Sonatas for Violin and Basso Continuo, Op.2

Antonio Vivaldi

Edited by Bernhard Moosbauer
Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Mixed Ensemble
Instrumentation: Violin, Harpsichord (Or Piano), Cello
Item Number: UT050176
Number of Pages: 78 + 44 + 40
Publisher: Wiener Urtext
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Antonio Vivaldi’s sonatas for violin and basso continuo are among the most valuable works written, and indeed, are of importance comparable to that of the violin sonatas of Corelli and Bach. Within this collection of sonatas, Vivaldi presents a multi-faceted spectrum of forms and possibilities with respect to performance and expression. The new Wiener Urtext Edition is based on both the first Venetian edition and an edition from late 17th-century/early 18th-centuryDutch publisher Estienne Roger. Drawn from these sources, we now have a much more logical musical text. This edition contains a solo violin part and a continuo score with realized basso continuo as well as a figured bass part, giving experienced continuo players the opportunity to improvise on the basso continuo part, and can also be used by a continuo cellist. For intermediate to advanced-level players.

Sonatas for Violin and Basso Continuo

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Editor Moosbauer, Bernhard
Publisher ID UT50176


Sonata I (RV 27)
Sonata II (RV 31)
Sonata III (RV 14)
Sonata IV (RV 20)
Sonata V (RV 36)
Sonata VI (RV 1)
Sonata VII (RV 8)
Sonata VIII (RV 23)
Sonata IX (RV 16)
Sonata X (RV 21)
Sonata XI (RV 9)
Sonata XII (RV 32)