Slavic Scherzo (Furiant)

Joseph Compello

Carl Fischer Performance Series
Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Concert Band
Instrumentation: Flute I, Baritone Saxophone, Clarinet III, Flute II, Oboe, Clarinet I, Clarinet II, Bass Clarinet, Bassoon, Alto Saxophone I, Tenor Saxophone II, Tenor Saxophone, Tenor I, Alto Clarinet, Horn I, Trumpet III, Percussion II, Trumpet I, Horn II, Tenor II, Ba
Item Number: CPS66
Number of Pages: 254
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Inspired by the Slavonic Dances of Czech master Antonin Dvorák, Joseph Compello has written his own Furiant, a Bohemian dance, usually in triple meter with frequently shifting accents. This dazzling little original piece makes much of the contrast between 6/8 and 3/4. This variety of rhythmic pulse gives the piece tremendous energy and momentum. Slavic Scherzo is a selection that will energize the band and delight the audience in equal measure.

More Views

  • Slavic Scherzo (Furiant)
  • Slavic Scherzo (Furiant)

Scores & Parts

Slavic Scherzo (Furiant) - Full Score - Large
Slavic Scherzo (Furiant) -

Additional Information