Carter Pann

Duration: 00:10:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Sample Media

Media Icon
Conductor: Paavo Jarvi Orchestra: Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Quick Overview

"Slalom" is a taste of the thrill of downhill skiing. The work is performed at a severe tempo throughout showcasing the orchestra?s volatility and endurance. The idea for a piece like this came directly out of a wonderful discovery I made several years ago at Steamboat Springs, Colorado when I embarked on the mountain-base gondola with a cassette player and headphones. At the time I was treating myself to large doses of Shostakovich?s Tenth Symphony and Rachmaninoff?s "Symphonic Dances". The exhilaration of barreling down the Rockies with such music pumping into my ears was overwhelming. After a few years of skiing with some of the greatest repertoire it occurred to me that I could customize the experience.

The work is presented as a collection of scenes and events one might come by on the slopes. The score is peppered with phrase-headings for the different sections such as ?First Run?, ?Open Meadow, Champagne Powder?, ?Straight Down, TUCK? and ?On One Ski, Gyrating ? among others. In this way "Slalom" shares its programmatic feature with that of Richard Strauss? Alpine Symphony. The similarities end there, however, for "Slalom" lasts ten minutes?precisely the amount of time I need to get from Storm Peak (the peak of Mt. Werner, Steamboat Springs) to the mountain base.

Scores & Parts

Slalom - Full Score - Study
Slalom - Full Score - Large

Additional Information

Composition Date 1999
Orchestration 3(Picc.) 2 2(B.Cl.) 2(Cbsn.) - 4 3 3(B.Tbn.) 1; Timp. 3Perc. Pno.(Cel.) Hp. Str.
Premiere May 18, 2000 Haddonfield Symphony

Score Preview