for Woodwind Quintet

Jay Reise

Duration: 00:15:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

Sinfonietta for Wind Quintet was commissioned by the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra Wind Quintet. The work is dedicated with great admiration and affection to Julia Bogorad and Charles Ullery.

As in all of my works, my primary aim in the Sinfonietta is to express emotions, generally love, fear and wonder, in a meaningful way through music. Although some sounds and special effects traditionally associated with new music are used, the underlying musical philosophy of the work is by no means doctrinaire in its avant garde elements but is catholic, and especially romantic, in its orientation.

The Sinfonietta for Wind Quintet is in three movements: Prelude, Rhapsody and Toccata. Each of these titles designates a well-known gestural device which is reinterpreted beyond its original generic meaning. As such, it becomes a new point of departure. I have also taken the idea of the single sonata movement and cast it into the three movements of this piece as follows: All of the principal themes and gestures of the piece are presented in the Prelude. They are developed in the Rhapsody and are recapitulated, sometimes literally and sometimes transformed, in the Toccata. This last movement is a whirlwind of musical energy and demands great virtuosity on the part of the performers. The entire piece lasts about eleven minutes.

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by The Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra with funds provided by the Jerome Foundation
Composition Date 1985
Orchestration 2 2 2 2 - 2 0 0 0
Premiere 29th November, 1985. Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra Wind Quintet.