For Violin, Cello and Piano

Behzad Ranjbaran

Performing Ensemble: Piano Trio
Item Number: 114-41321
Number of Pages: 60
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

An ode to the city of Shiraz in southern Iran, many of Behzad Ranjbaran's melodic, rhythmic, and musical characters are inspired by Persian culture and its vocal and instrumental music. Movement one, "The Weeping Willow", was influenced by the composer's vision of three poets in a gentle but heated poetic discourse, with a musical phrase beginning with one instrument and then circulated and repeated in a refined exchange. The second movement refers to a river in Shiraz often cited in Iranian poetry. The composer elaborates: "As the opening [of the second movement] descends into the whispering murmur of water waves, it soon builds to climactic crashing chords, all pointing to the vitality of life represented by the river. There is also allusion to the playful character of folk music with irregular rhythmic patterns, repeated short melodies, and jesting pizzicato sections….propelling the piece to an energetic conclusion."

More Views

  • Shiraz
  • Shiraz

Additional Information


I. The Weeping Willow
II. The Rokni River