For Piano and Orchestra

Ellen Taaffe Zwilich

Full Score - Study
Performing Ensemble: Piano with Orchestra
Item Number: 446-41260
Number of Pages: 96
Duration: 20:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Shadows is Ellen Zwilich’s fifth piano concerto and the second concerto that Zwilich has composed for pianist Jeffrey Biegel and a consortium of many orchestras. The composer describes Shadows as a work evoking the recollection of ancestral, religious, and cultural roots in people’s constant migration. The final movement reflects the triumph of the human spirit over natural and man-made disasters. Dur.: 20’

More Views

  • Shadows
  • Shadows

Scores & Parts

Shadows - Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 2011
Orchestration Solo pno.; 1, 1+E.H., 1+B.Cl., 1; 2, 0, 0, 0; Perc., Str.


I. tranquillo