Seven Passages

Behzad Ranjbaran

Duration: 00:15:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Sample Media

Media Icon
Behzad Ranjbaran - Persian Trilogy: Seven Passages

Quick Overview

"Seven Passages" is my final work of a trilogy inspired by "Shahnameh", the epic poem, written by Persian poet Ferdowsi (c. 935-c.1020).

In my first work, "Seemorgh" (Phoenix), I was inspired by the wisdom, power and mysticism of this legendary bird. "Seemorgh" was premiered by the Long Beach Symphony in 1993. My second work, "The Blood of Seyavash", was commissioned and premiered by the Nashville Ballet in 1994. The ballet is in seven scenes and symbolizes the triumph and tragedy of the young prince?Seyavash?who never compromises his integrity and high human morals.

"Seven Passages" derives its inspiration from an episode in "Shahnameh" titled ?The Seven Labors of Rostam.? In writing "Seven Passages", I was inspired by the symbolism evident in the story that depicts the passage of life with all of its pain, joy, triumph, tragedy, and struggle. In the story, Rostam, the main hero of the book, goes through seven trials. Throughout his trials, Rostam emerges triumphant from his encounters with wild beasts, witches, demons, and dragons. He performs one act of heroism after another. However, I have come to realize that in real life, courageous acts are not limited only to heroes. Unsung heroes perform countless acts of courage and struggle daily.

Scores & Parts

Seven Passages - Full Score - Study
Seven Passages - Full Score - Large

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Long Beach Symphony Orchestra, with additional support from the National Endowment for the Arts.
Composition Date 1999-2000
Orchestration 3(Picc.) 3(E.H.) 3(B.Cl.) 3(Cbsn.) - 4 3 3(B.Tbn.) 1; Timp. Perc. Cel. Hp. Str.
Premiere March 25, 2000Long Beach Symphony OrchestraJoAnn Falletta, conductor

Score Preview