Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra

Kenneth Fuchs

Duration: 16:00
Publisher: Piedmont/E.B. Marks
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

Rush (Concerto for E b Alto Saxophone and Orchestra) was commissioned by Ryan Janus, principal saxophonist of the United States Air Force Academy Band (located at Peterson Air Force Base in Colorado Springs), and a onsortium of saxophonists and ensemble conductors. Mr. Janus is an expert classical and jazz musician and through his commissioning projects has formed several consortia to support the creation of saxophone concerti by leading composers. Rush is composed in a two-movement form, each about seven minutes in duration, connected by an extended cadenza for the saxophone soloist. The formal structure is similar to that of Aaron Copland's Clarinet Concerto. The first movement, which begins with a short cadenza that introduces the thematic material of the work, is a rhapsodic Adagietto with transparent textures. The second movement, which begins with an extended cadenza that introduces blue notes into the harmonic language, is cast in the form of a jazz-inflected passacaglia with seven variations. The full ensemble begins the Allegro section with a series of syncopated chords. The soloist then intones the passacaglia theme proper. The band takes up the theme and with the soloist weaves an elaborate tapestry of seven variations based on the theme and the syncopated chords. Rush was composed from December 2011 through June 2012 in Mansfield Center, Connecticut. I am grateful to Ryan Janus for his energy and commitment to organizing a consortium of performers and conductors to make the creation of this work possible.

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Ryan Janus, United States Air Force Academy Band (Colorado Springs) and a consortium of saxophonists and ensembles
Composition Date 2015
Orchestration Solo A.Sax.; 3(Picc.) 3(E.H.) 3 2 - 4 3 3(B.Tbn.) 1; Timp. 4Perc. Hp. Str.


I. Evening (Cadenza - Adagietto)
II. Morning (Cadenza - Allegro)