American Landscapes

for Guitar and Chamber Orchestra

Lukas Foss

Performing Ensemble: Guitar with Orchestra
Duration: 00:26:00
Publisher: Pembroke Music
Print Status: Rental

Sample Media

Quick Overview

Written for guitarist Sharon Isbin, Lukas Foss incorporates a distinctly American style of writing throughout this concerto, calling on many patriotic tunes.

Scores & Parts

American Landscapes - Score - Guitar, Orchestra

Additional Information

Composition Date 1989
Orchestration Solo guitar; 1 1 1 1 - 1 1 1 0; 2Perc. Pno. Hp. Str.
Premiere November 29, 1989. Guitarist Sharon Isbin and the Orchestra of St. Luke’s, the composer conducting. Avery Fisher Hall, New York, NY.


Part I: Slow And Free; Andante - Allegro Vivace - Andante
Part II: Variations On "The Wayfaring Stranger"
Part III: Allegro