Eleven Very Short Pieces for Orchestra

Sydney Hodkinson

Duration: 00:17:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

This composition is a series of brief single ?pictures? for orchestra. The sub-titles offer only gentle hints to the impetus for each of the individual images, which range from the very static, serious, nostalgic, and rapid to the downright goofy. I did try to write solos for almost e v e r y o n e in the ensemble; some fared better than others.

Potpourri is approximately 17 minutes in duration and was commissioned by Stetson University for its symphony orchestra, Anthony Hose, conductor. The score is dedicated to Manuel de Murga, my teaching colleague and head of the Composition Division at the School of Music in Deland, Florida. The work was composed September 16 - 24, 2008 and the orchestration completed in Ormond-by-the Sea, FL in February of 2009.

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Stetson University School of Music Jean West, Dean for its Symphony Orchestra Anthoy Hose, conductor
Composition Date 2010
Orchestration 2(dbl. Picc.) 2 2(dbl.B.Cl.) 2(dbl.Cbsn.) - 4 3 3(B.Tbn.) 1; Timp. 4Perc. Kbd./Sampler(dbl.Cel.) Str.(minimum
Premiere Sep. 30, 2010, Stetson University Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Anthony Hose, Elizabeth Hall, Deland, FL


1. Grinder
2. Stuck
3. Gruff
4. Spasm
5. Blue
6. Nightwalk
7. Shout
8. Line
9. Hopscotch
10. Cirrus
11. Scoot

Score Preview