Piano Concerto

Chen Yi

Duration: 00:16:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The power of ancient totems, the crude beauty of ancient Chinese bronze cups, the exaggerated gestures of Han arts, the rhythms of Tang cursive calligraphy, the serenity and otherworldliness of Tao, the sudden enlightenment of Buddhist metaphysics, the open-heartedness of Su Shi?s poetry, the sweet sadness of the poetess Li Qing-zhao, the drones of the Chinese two-string fiddle, the punctuation of Beijing Opera drum beats, and the crude beauty of the clay dolls on the stall outside a temple bazaar can all be heard merged into my melodies and rhythms. I try to combine East and West in ideal form and spirit.

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Brooklyn Philharmonic Orchestra, New York, for Maestro Dennis Russell Davies and pianist Gwendolyn Mok
Orchestration Solo Pno.; 3(Picc.) 3(E.H.) 3(B.Cl.) 3(Cbsn.) - 4 3 3 1; Timp. Perc. Pno. Str.
Premiere October 14 & 15, 1994 - Brooklyn Academy of Music, New York Brooklyn Philharmonic Maestro Dennis Russell Davies, conductor Margaret Leng Tan, pianist

Score Preview