for Solo Violin and String Orchestra

Ellen Taaffe Zwilich

Duration: 18:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

"Partita" was commissioned by Louise Behrend for the 30th anniversary of the School for Strings. Violin was my principal instrument and writing for it holds special meaning for me. From my Sonata for Violin and Piano of 1973-74 ? one of the earliest works I acknowledge ? to my 1997 Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, the violin has been a central figure in my work as a composer.

One of the things I most love about the violin is its expressive range ? its ability to give voice to musical ideas ranging from the profound to the lighthearted. "Partita" falls into the latter category. Like its Baroque namesakes, my "Partita" is a suite, light in feeling, and often displays a dance-like character. The piece is in five movements: "Introduction and Allegro"; "Serenade"; "Tango"; "Meditation"; and "Finale".

The world premiere of "Partita" was given at Carnegie Hall on June 16, 2001, with Colin Jacobsen as violin soloist and the School for Strings Alumni Orchestra under the direction of Anthony Aibel.

Scores & Parts

Partita - Solo Part with Piano Reduction

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Louise Behrend for the 30th Anniversary of the School for Strings.
Composition Date 2000
Orchestration Solo Vln.; Str.
Premiere June 16th, 2001. Colin Jacobsen, solo Violin, School for Strings, conducted by Anthony Aibel, Carnegie Hall, NYC.


I. Introduction and Allegro
II. Serenade
III. Tango
IV. Meditation
V. Finale

Score Preview