On The Verge Of Remembrance

Thomas Schuttenhelm

Item Number: FH0323
Publisher: Falls House Press
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

This piece is a three movement concert work by Connecticut composer Thomas Schuttenhelm, an accomplished guitarist in his own right. About the work, "Each movement explores an aspect of memory and uses it to drive the musical argument of the composition. The first movement, Moderato, is in ABA form. The second movement, Mysterioso, is in Falls House Press says, rondo form. The timbre of the guitar changes with each return, adding a distinct the piece, the third and final movement is a release from all the tensions of the previous two. The guitar has an elegant, almost sentimental tremolo solo line while the flute gently plays its haunting melody. It has a certain nostalgic quality to it, as it recalls some of the themes heard in the first two movements, and floats above the guitar with Ivesian reverence."


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Additional Information