(Impressions On 'The True Story Of Ah Q')

Chen Yi

Arranged by Jeffrey Heisler
Solo Part
Performing Ensemble: Alto Saxophone Unaccompanied
Item Number: 114-41561
Number of Pages: 4
Duration: 5:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Jeffrey Heisler has worked with composer luminaries, such as Ellen Zwilich, Morton Subotnick, Steve Reich, and Louis Andriessen, transcribing their works for saxophone. Now he brings Chen Yi's often-performed Monologue for unaccompanied clarinet to the saxophonist's repertoire. "Chen Yi's haunting Monologue packs a multiplicity of voluminous ideas into a small package. It might seem unlikely that she could distill her impressions of a true story by writer Lu Xun into a mere four minutes, but she does so with consummate skill and idiomatic use of the instrument." (Michael Cameron, Fanfare) For advanced performers. Dur.: 5'

More Views

  • Monologue
  • Monologue

Scores & Parts

Monologue - Solo Part

Additional Information

Arranger Heisler, Jeffrey