March Militaire Francaise, Opus 60

from the 'Algerian Suite', Op. 60

Camille Saint-Saens

Arranged by Merle J Isaac
Carl Fischer Classic Orchestra Edition
Full Score - Large
Performing Ensemble: Orchestra
Instrumentation: Violin I, Violin II, Horn II, Horn I, Trumpet I, Trumpet II, Trumpet III, Tenor I, Tenor II, Percussion, Tuba, Timpani, Clarinet II, Tenor III, Bassoon I, Oboe II, Horn IV, Tenor Saxophone, Bassoon II, Flute II, Bass Clarinet, Clarinet I, Oboe I, Horn III
Item Number: C142F
Number of Pages: 31
Duration: 0:03:20
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Marche Militaire Francaise is the fourth and final movement of the Algerian Suite. The first three movements depict the native Algerian scene, which the composer knew well; he made several sojourns in North Africa. This stirring finale, however, turns to the French army for inspiration. The suite was composed about 1879, during the period after the Franco-Prussian War, the stage dominated French music. In 1871 Saint-Saens, with Bussine, founded the Societe Nationale de Musique to encourage instrumental composers. This, along with his compositions, had much to do with the progress of symphonic music in France.

March Militaire Francaise

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Arranger Isaac, Merle J

State Lists

Wisconsin Festival Music List