Concerto for Soprano Saxophone and Wind Ensemble

Narong Prangcharoen

Duration: 00:15:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

MANTRAS are mystic sounds which produce certain type of energies depend on the sound, vibration, and rhythm of each Mantras. Mantras are considered capable of "creating transformation", physically and mentally. There is believed that Mantras are not just a sound around us but it is the sound that has a power to heal oneself from suffering. The music and the sound are not just a medium for artist to express themselves but it has practical and powerful applications in the real world. The idea of using Mantras for healing is really the main inspiration for this piece. If the Mantras can heal human being, it is a hope to have at least one Mantra to help healing the Earth.

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the 15th World Saxophone Congress
Composition Date 2009
Orchestration Solo Sop.Sax.; 3Fl.(3rd dbl. Picc.) 2Ob., 1E-flat Cl., 3Cl., 1B.Cl., 2Bsn., 2A.Sax., 1T.Sax., 1Bar.Sax. - 3Tpt., 4Hn., 2Tbn., 1B.Tbn., Euph., Tu.; Timp. 4Perc., Pno. 2Cb.
Premiere March 23rd, 2010. John Sampen, soprano saxophone, UMKC Wind Symphony, conducted by Steven Davis; White Recital Hall, Kansas City, MO.

Score Preview