L'Abbe Agathon

Arvo Part

Instrumentation: Soprano Voice, 4 Celli, 4 Violas
Item Number: UE033004
Publisher: Universal Edition
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

L’abbé Agathon refers to the story of an encounter between the hermit Agathon and a leper. The work, commissioned by the Octuor de Violoncelles de Beauvais, is composed for soprano and 8 cellos. Barbara Hendricks gave the world première at the Rencontres d’ensembles de Violoncelles in Beauvais on May 5, 2004. A subsequent redrawing of the piece resulted in the version for voice, four violas, and four celli.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Additional Information

Publisher ID UE33004