Inner Demons

for String Orchestra

Stacy Garrop

Performing Ensemble: String Orchestra
Duration: 00:11:30
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

Inner Demons depicts a man as he loses his mind. This piece contains four themes: a tarantella, a demented waltz, a scherzo, and the Appalachian folk hymn ?The Wayfaring Stranger?. The themes are stated quite briskly until arriving at the hymn. This theme consumes the man; it destroys his mind and he melts down. As his mind is slowly rebuilt, his thoughts become increasingly chaotic, until elements of all four themes are heard simultaneously. Inner Demons is an arrangement of movements III and II (in that order) of Stacy Garrop?s String Quartet No. 2: Demons and Angels.

Scores & Parts

Inner Demons - Full Score - Study
Inner Demons - Full Score - Large

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Peter Austin and Music in the Loft for the Biava Quartet
Composition Date 2007
Orchestration String Orchestra

Score Preview