Helen's Backyard

Jonathan Cohen

Performing Ensemble: Flute Ensemble
Instrumentation: 4 C Flutes, Alto Flute, Bass Flute
Item Number: FH0225
Duration: 8:00
Publisher: Falls House Press
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Helen’s Backyard is a celebration of life told through a backyard day, presented in five movements. “Dawn Processional” paints a sunrise and the sun’s triumphal march across the land. Tentative but enthusiastic birds then attempt to sing as an ensemble in “Boid Dance,” but can never quite get it together. “Cat Pause” is the swing-beat swagger of a very cool cat, complete with meows and purrs. The frenetic “Squirrels” follows. Finally, “Evening Chorale” brings the day to a satisfying close. Parts are for 4 C flutes, alto, and bass, and is about 8 minutes in length.

More Views

  • FH0225

Additional Information


Dawn Processional
Boid Dance
Cat Pause
Evening Chorale