Green Sneakers

For Baritone and String Quartet

Ricky Ian Gordon

Text by Ricky Ian Gordon
Piano Reduction/Vocal Score
Performing Ensemble: Voice with Piano
Instrumentation: Voice, Piano
Item Number: 411-41120
Number of Pages: 72
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Green Sneakers is a work for solo baritone voice with string quartet from the critically acclaimed Ricky Ian Gordon. Grown from a cycle of poems dedicated to the composer’s departed love, Green Sneakers is a raw and touching ode to the life he shared and the process of grief. The string quartet narrates the story as much as the baritone voice, creating a mini-opera, complete with an empty chair, employed as a prop, and a piano played by the singer at the conclusion. According to Gordon, “I suppose I wanted to end the piece with not only a lullaby, but a celebration of what we had together.” String quartet parts are available on rental, and the study score is available separately (411-41121).

Green Sneakers

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Scores & Parts

Green Sneakers - Full Score - Study
Green Sneakers - Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned for the 2008 Bravo! Vail Valley Music Festival
Composition Date 2008
Duration 60'


No. 1 - Prelude
No. 2 - If Only Someone Could Have Told Me
No. 3 - In Particular
No. 4 - He Came to Houston
No. 5 - Needs
No. 6 - Shopping
No. 7 - Sportswear
No. 8 - Opening Night
No. 9 - Philadelphia
No. 10 - Stone Garden
No. 11 - Blue Dust Mask
No. 12 - Two Months Later
No. 13 - Would You Consider...
No. 14 - Operas Come and Go
No. 15 - It Was As If...
No. 16 - Bonanza
No. 17 - Bus Ride
No. 18 - Provincetown
No. 19 - Epilogue-Sleep