Concerto In Three Movements for Two Marimbas and Orchestra - 2 Marimbas and Piano

Martin Bresnick

Set of Parts
Performing Ensemble: Percussion Ensemble
Instrumentation: Marimba 1, Piano, Marimba 2
Item Number: DRM135
Number of Pages: 46
Duration: 0:19:00
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Grace is a musical meditation on Heinrich von Kleist's brief essay The Puppet Theatre, in which two friends discuss the concept of grace as suggested by a simple puppet show, touching upon how easy it is to lose grace, and how one may find it again. This work was commissioned by and is dedicated to Robert Van Sice, percussionist, marimba player, and teacher at the Yale School of Music, the Peabody Conservatory of Music, and most recently, the Curtis Institute of Music. For advanced players.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Robert van Sice


I. Pendula and the Center of Gravity (Puppet Theatre)
II. Of the Heaviness of Matter (Only a God Is a Match for Matter)
III. Grace Will Return (Most Purely in a Puppet or a God)