(1. From Symphonic Dances)

Eric Ewazen

Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Concert Band
Instrumentation: Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 3 Clarinets in Bb, Bass Clarinet, Contralto Clarinet, 2 Bassoons, 2 Alto Saxophones, Tenor Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, 4 Trumpets in Bb, 4 Horns in F, 2 Trombones, Bass Trombone, 2 Euphoniums, 2 Tubas, Timpani, Glockenspiel,
Item Number: 115-40209
Number of Pages: 346
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

"Gopak is the first movement of a set of Symphonic Dances written for the Hofstra Unibersity Wind Ensemble, directed by Peter Boonshaft, who commissioned and premiered the work in 2009. Gopak is a tribute to my Polish and Ukrainian roots. My father used to dance traditional Ukrainian dances including the Gopak, and some of my earliest musical memories include the joyful, energetic, and rhythmic feel of those wonderful folk dances.Gopak has a strong feeling of two beats, is accented quite heavily, and is energetic from beginning to end. The melodies are completely original, but the lively feel of the music calls to my mind the energy of the Gopak," notes composer Eric Ewazen.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Scores & Parts

Gopak - Full Score - Study
Gopak - Set of Parts
Gopak - Extra Part

Additional Information