Glitter, Doom, Shards, Memory

String Quartet No. 3

Shulamit Ran

Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: String Quartet
Instrumentation: 2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello
Item Number: 114-41690
Number of Pages: 92
Duration: 23:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Sample Media

Media Icon
Shulamit Ran: Gliiter, Doom, Shards, Memory, Mvt. 1

Quick Overview

Ran's third string quartet was written for the Pacifica Quartet, who are featuring it in numerous performances from May 2014 through February 2016, across the country and abroad. Their blog page dedicated to the work also features the composer's notes, for more indepth insight. "...impassioned solos emerge from ominous quiet, and high arpeggios in the violins quiver alongside the earthy cello. Ms. Ran skillfully deploys these extremes of color, volume and pitch, yet the overall somewhat chilly impression is one of poise." -- Zachary Woolfe, The New York Times

More Views

  • Glitter, Doom, Shards, Memory

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Music Accord for Pacifica String Quartet


I. That which happened
II. Menace
III. "If I must perish, do not let my paintings die."
IV. Shards, Memory