The Fritz Kreisler Collection Vol. 3

Niccolo Paganini
Giuseppe Tartini
Arcangelo Corelli

Arranged by Fritz Kreisler
Text by Eric Wen
Edited by Eric Wen
Transcribed by Fritz Kreisler
The Masters Collection
Soft Cover
Performing Ensemble: Violin with Piano
Instrumentation: Violin, Piano
Item Number: ATF125
Number of Pages: 120
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

This collection offers works by three of the most influential violinist/composers of the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries in editions/arrangements by Fritz Kreisler, the celebrated Viennese Violinist and composer. The Corelli and Tartini pieces were all originally composed for solo Violin, with a figured bass that required a keyboard player's knowledgeable realization of the harmonies suggested by the accompanying bassline. Kreisler, as a composer, had an intimate knowledge of the piano and a wonderful and idiosyncratic flair for using traditional harmonic practice. Of the Paganini works, the Caprices, originally composed for Violin Solo, work admirably with Kreisler's 19th century style accompaniments and the additional pieces ("The Witches Dance," the two "Theme and Variations" sets, "Perpetual Motion" Op. 11, and "The Bell," Op.7) unpublished in Paganini's lifetime, were reconstructed from fragments after his death. The collection will be an essential addition to the library of all serious students of the Violin.

The Fritz Kreisler Collection Vol. 3

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Arranger Kreisler, Fritz
Editor Wen, Eric
Transcriber Kreisler, Fritz


Sonata in D minor
Sarabande and Allegretto
Sonata in G Major
Fugue in A
Caprice No. 24
The Witches' Dance
Theme and Variations
Theme and Variations
Perpetual Motion
Caprice No. 13
Caprice No. 20
The Bell
Three Extra Variations