Four Symphonic Quartets

see individual titles: 1. Other Echoes 2. Perpetual Angelus 3. The Dove Descending 4. Winter Lightning

George Tsontakis

Duration: 00:57:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

From the time I completed the first of my "Four Symphonic Quartets", ?Perpetual Angelus? in February, 1992, until the completion of the last ?Other Echoes? in April, 1996, I had also fulfilled, intermittently, ten other commissioned works, not related to this cycle. This additional output includes two orchestral pieces as well as eight chamber works. Clearly, it was a creatively productive period of musical challenges, with an accent on deadline. One might expect that such lapses in continuity might serve to disrupt the concentrated effort on such a large work, eventually clouding the necessary unity, yet throughout the four-or-so year period the thread connecting the intent and creative integrity of these four pieces remained unsevered. On the contrary, attending to the ?non-Eliot? projects offered a welcomed respite from the major work-in-progress. It allowed time for the subconscious, conjured images to brew, re-brew and fructify, and then to transform ? somewhere deep ? in to a personal musical manifestation. Of course, it doesn?t hurt to have as a companion and stimulus, a literary masterpiece which suggests, for example, that the past, present and future might, at moments, exist simultaneously, in one deep, poetic breath.

Fortunately, opportunities to compose for this cycle arose at timely and mostly convenient intervals, vis

Additional Information

Composition Date 1992-96