Four Preludes

For Piano

Ruth Crawford

New Music Edition
Solo Part
Performing Ensemble: Piano Unaccompanied
Instrumentation: Piano
Item Number: 440-40010
Number of Pages: 15
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Four preludes--Nos.6,7,8 and 9--from a large group first published in the New Music Edition. They exhibit Ruth Crawford's earthy, uncompromising use of dissonance coupled with her well- defined musical forms and her sensitivity to piano "color". The melodies lie as diamonds embedded into the rock-like textures that surround them. In fact, in Prelude No.7, Crawford has seen fit to indicate the "melodic line" over the music itself. 1981 piano competition, studios,colleges, libraries, professional. Medium difficult.

More Views

  • Four Preludes
  • Four Preludes

Additional Information