Double Concerto

for Solo Violin, Solo Oboe/Oboe d'amore and Chamber Orchestra

Steven Stucky

Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

My Double Concerto for Violin, Oboe, and Chamber Orchestra was composed at the request of violinist Karen Clarke and oboist George Riordan, a husband-and-wife duo seeking a companion piece to include in programs with the Bach C-minor Concerto. At George?s suggestion I wrote not only for the modern oboe but also, in the last movement, for the oboe d?amore, an instrument of which he is especially fond. (These passages may also be played on English horn). The score was begun in late 1982, laid aside, then resumed late in 1984 and completed in 1985. The first performance took place in March 1985 at the Florida State University Festival of New Music in Tallahassee. In 1989 I took up the score once again to carry out some small corrections and revisions.

Though the music runs continuously, the concerto is in five clearly defined sections. The three main movements?"Lamento", "Scherzo", and "Notturno", in the tempo sequence slow, fast, slow?are separated by two cadenzas. Cadenza I, for solo oboe, is accompanied chiefly by piano and percussion. In Cadenza II, the solo violin is set against a quiet background of strings. Despite the presence of cadenzas, however, the work focuses very little on virtuoso display but rather on expressive lines and on textural and timbral interplay between soloists and chamber orchestra.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 1982-85, rev. 1989
Duration 00:18:00
Orchestration Solo Vlo., Solo Oboe d'amore; Pno. Perc. Str. (6 3 2 1)
Premiere 8th March, 1985. Karen Clarke, Violin, George Riordan, Ob./Ob.d?am., Florida State University Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Rainer Moeckel.


I. Lamento
II. Scherzo
III. Notturno

Score Preview