For 4 Clarinets and Piano

Robert Baksa

Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Clarinet Quartet
Item Number: 494-02924
Publisher: Composers Library Editions
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

Baksa's Collage for 4 clarinets and band was commissioned for the bicentennial of the United States Military Academy at West Point, and serves as source material for Design, a transcription with piano. Of Collage, MSG William Treat writes, "The work...provides a vehicle for three clarinets and bass clarinet to display their virtuosity in a concerto-like setting. Cast in one continuous movement, the piece is comprised of dialogues between the clarinets and the band. It begins with a brief introduction by the full ensemble followed by soloist sections. At times treated as concertino, at others as individual cadenzas, the clarinet is used to its full potential. [Baksa's] lyricism, his ability to turn a phrase, reflects his distinctive musical gift ingeniously, some of the soloist sections evoke Alpen horn calls. The work is optimistic, even tuneful, and will undoubtedly receive many repeat performances." (Liner notes for the West Point Band's "200 Years of Excellence, Volume 4")

More Views

  • Design

Additional Information

Publisher ID 494-02924