Concerto for Violin, Violoncello and Orchestra

Ellen Taaffe Zwilich

Duration: 18:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The Concerto for Violin, Violoncello and Orchestra (1991) is in two extended movements, both employing related expansive themes in a mixture of speeds and moods. The first begins lyrically, becomes agitated, then returns to a quiet close. The second movement is just the reverse; it starts very fast, changes character into an extended slow section, and finally returns to the faster tempos in an extended coda. It is scored for solo violin, solo cello, 2 flutes, oboe, English horn, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani and strings and is published by Merion Music (Theodore Presser).

Additional Information

Composition Date 1991
Orchestration Violin, Cello Soli; 2 2(E.H.) 2 2 - 2 2 0 0; Timp. Str.
Premiere 6th, 7th December, 1991. Jaime Laredo, Violin, Sharon Robinson, Cello, Louisville Orchestra, conducted by Lawrence Leighton Smith

Score Preview