Concerto for Violin, Viola, and Orchestra

Behzad Ranjbaran

Solo Part with Piano Reduction
Instrumentation: Violin, Viola, Piano
Item Number: 114-41402
Number of Pages: 44
Duration: 20:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

"[Virginia Symphony's] music director, JoAnn Falletta, and Ranjbaran were classmates at Juilliard. ...[In 2008] Falletta received a special award from the American Society for Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) for championing contemporary music; the prize included an opportunity to commission a new work. 'When ASCAP gave me the award, I immediately thought of Ranjbaran,' Falletta told Virginia's Daily Press. 'I've had a long professional relationship with him, and I love his music.'" (Iran Times International, October 23, 2009) Virginia Symphony premiered the Concerto on October 22 and 24, 2009, with Concertmaster Vahn Armstrong and principal viola Beverly Kane Baker. Watch a 10-minute YouTube video of the soloists discussing preparation for the premiere. The Concerto is constructed in three-movement, classic A-B-A form. For advanced performers. Dur.: 26

More Views

  • Concerto for Violin, Viola, and Orchestra

Scores & Parts

Concerto for Violin, Viola and Orchestra - Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by The ASCAP Foundation and the Virginia Symphony Orchestra
Composition Date 2009


I. Andante
II. Adagio cantabile
III. Allegro Vivace