Concerto for Violin and Orchestra

Behzad Ranjbaran

Full Score - Study
Performing Ensemble: Violin with Orchestra
Item Number: 416-41366
Number of Pages: 144
Duration: 31:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Trained as a violinist in his native Tehran, composer Behzad Ranjbaran eagerly drew inspiration from the traditional Persian kamancheh and its delicate, lyrical sound when creating his profoundly luscious and brilliant Concerto for Violin and Orchestra. This work was completed in 1994 and premiered in England by Joshua Bell, who also gave the first American and Canadian performances. The Concerto for Violin and Orchestra is the recipient of the Rudolf Nissim Award from ASCAP, and it was supported in part by a t from The National Endowment for the Arts. The solo part with a piano reduction as well as a large score are available on custom print. For advanced players. Dur.: 31’

More Views

  • Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
  • Concerto for Violin and Orchestra

Additional Information

Composition Date 1994
Orchestration Solo Vin.; 2(dbl. Picc.) 2(dbl. E.H.) 2 2 - 4 2 2 0; Timp. 2Perc. Cel. Hp. Str.


I. Andante - Allegro con brio
II. Adagio
III. Allegro Moderato