Concerto No. 1 for Timpani and Orchestra

William Kraft

Solo Part with Piano
Performing Ensemble: Percussion with Piano
Instrumentation: Timpani & Piano Reduction
Item Number: 114-40971
Number of Pages: 44
Duration: :23:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Concerto No. 1 for Timpani and Orchestra

Quick Overview

A timpani concerto written by a master timpanist is a rarity, indeed, and Kraft's Concerto No. 1 has become the go-to solo for timpanists who get to step out front. William Kraft was principal timpanist of the LA Philharmonic for 18 of his 26 years with the orchestra, assistant conductor for 3 of those years, and after his retirement served as its composer-in-residence for four seasons. During this latter period, he composed Concerto No. 1 for soloist Thomas Akins and the Indianapolis Symphony. With its 5 timpani set, the use of a variety of beaters and gloves expands the soloist's palette. The second movement is dedicated to Kraft's mother, who died during its composition; it is subtitled "Poem for Timpani, Two String Orchestras, Celeste, and Percussion," and the strings are divided antiphonally. We are pleased to make this piano reduction available.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Indiana Percussion Projects, Inc.
Duration 23:00


I. Allegretto
II. Poem For Timpani, Two String Orchestras, Celesta and Percussion
III. Fleeting