Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra

Takuma Itoh

Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra is a single movement work commissioned by the New York Youth Symphony for the Shanghai Quartet in 2005. Although this instrumental combination is rather unusual, the quartet is featured as a soloist in a fairly conventional manner of a standard concerto. The challenge, however, was to maintain the identity of the string quartet within the traditional context of a soloist.

The piece is roughly divided up into three sections: the first section consists of a short introduction followed by a fast virtuosic section; the middle section features the lyrical side of the quartet, while the final section loosely recapitulates the first section.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the New York Youth Symphony and the Shanghai Quartet
Composition Date 2005
Duration 00:12:00
Orchestration Solo Str. Quartet; 3(Picc.) 2 2 2 - 4 2 3 1; Timp. 2Perc. Str.
Premiere May 21, 2006 Carnegie Hall, New York, NY New York Youth Symphony with the Shanghai Quartet, Paul Haas, Conductor

Score Preview