Concerto For Piano And Orchestra

Behzad Ranjbaran

Solo Part with Piano Reduction
Performing Ensemble: Piano Duet
Item Number: 410-41342
Number of Pages: 84
Duration: 30:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

Written for the prodigious talents of French pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Ranjbaran's Concerto was premiered in June, 2008 by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. Ranjbaran saw this ASO commission as an opportunity to explore the joining of East and West traditions. Reviewer Kenny Crucial notes, "In the dramatic finale, piano and orchestra exploded together. There was a blending of the different traditions. But Behzad Ranjbaran maintained the independence of the different voices."

More Views

  • Concerto For Piano And Orchestra

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and its Music Director Robert Spano for Jean-Yves Thibaudet
Composition Date 2008


I. Adagio tragicamente; Allegro vivace
II. "Distant Dreams": Lento
III. Allegro giocoso