Concerto Elegia

For Flute And String Orchestra

Ellen Taaffe Zwilich

Solo Part with Piano Reduction
Performing Ensemble: Flute with Piano
Item Number: 144-40626
Number of Pages: 16
Duration: 16:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Zwilich's Concerto Elegia for flute and strings was commissioned by a consortium of 11 orchestras and premiered by flutist Trudy Kane at University of Miami's Frost School of Music. The work's three movements are titled Elegy, Soliloquy, and Epilogue, composed in memory of Zwilich's late husband Erik LaMont. "…a lyrical and rhapsodic rumination that exploits the solo instrument's colors and range. The opening thematic material is haunting, with the strings providing a rich and vibrant undercurrent to the flute's elegiac fragments." –- Lawrence Budmen, South Florida Classical Review

More Views

  • 144-40626
  • Concerto Elegia

Scores & Parts

Concerto Elegia - Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 2014


I. Elegy
II. Soliloquy
III. Epilogue

State Lists

NFA Newly Published Award