Version for 15 Players

Ronald Caltabiano

Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

As its title implies, "Concertini" comprises a series of short movements and features the alternation of solo and tutti sections. The movements range in length from one to four minutes. It is scored for flute doubling piccolo, B-flat clarinet doubling E-flat clarinet, oboe, bassoon, two horns, trumpet, trombone, piano, percussion (vibraphone, marimba and timpani), and strings.

To achieve unity and coherence in a work with so many disparate parts, all the movements share an ever-varying cantus firmus, as well as motivic and thematic elements. Gestures are echoed and transformed; conflicts revealed in one movement are heightened and resolved in another. Range and orchestration also come into play: The early and late movements focus on the bottom of the orchestral palette, while the middle movements use the highest orchestral sounds. The featured instruments for each movement are I: low strings, piano, timpani, bassoon; II: tutti; II: brass; IV: tutti; V: piccolo, oboe, clarinet; VI: violin; VII: violin, viola; VIII: tutti; IX: trumpet; X: tutti.
While the movements are interrelated, each has its own character: Raucous rumblings of the first movement are made more linear in the introspective Andante piacevole that follows. The intervals of the third movement?s rhythmic brass chorale are followed by a more melancholy treatment in the Andante Moderato. Material first presented by strident and insistent winds in movement V also appears in VII, tutti sections, and in VIII, with a maniacal obsession. A lyrical contrapuntal web of sound (VI) is later clarified in greater tranquility (IX). The kaleidoscopic finale allows echoes of all previous movements.

Each movement is dedicated to a composer whose work I admire greatly: George Perle, Elliott Carter, Peter Maxwell Davies, Donald Martino, Charles Wuorinen, Ellen Zwilich, Jacob Druckman, John Adams, Vincent Persichetti (in memoriam), and Ned Rorem.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Duration 00:16:00
Orchestration Version for 15 Players with Str. (2 1 1 1 0)