Concertante II

for Alto Saxophone and 14 Players

Ralph Shapey

Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

Of his own works the composer writes:

?My credo: 1. The music must speak for itself, 2. Great art is a miracle, 3. That which the mind of man (Humankind) can conceive will be done. I hate long, involved explanations, which in the end become excuses for the music. I guess my motto is ?play it again, Sam.? That is the only explanation that means anything.?

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by NEA for Cynthia Sykes
Composition Date 1987
Duration 00:21:00
Orchestration Solo A.Sax.; 1 1 1 1 - 1 1 1 0; 3Perc. Str. Quartet
Premiere July 31, 1989