Clarinet Concerto

"Nekudim" for Symphonic Band

Jonathan Leshnoff

Full Score - Study
Performing Ensemble: Symphonic Band
Instrumentation: Clarinet, Symphonic Band
Item Number: 495-00013F
Publisher: Leshnoff Publishing
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

The Philadelphia Orchestra commissioned Leshnoff to write Clarinet Concerto for principal Ricardo Morales. The Philadelphia Inquirer critic David Patrick Stearns referred to the concerto as "a brooding, lyrical child of Aaron Copland's Clarinet Concerto." He describes the premiere, "The atmospheric music suggested dark, unfathomable spiritual depths in the first movement. The scherzolike animation in the second movement was full of witty, infectious rhythms. Principal clarinetist Ricardo Morales was at his absolute best, with a steady stream of lustrous but demure tones that made you listen all the more closely." Now a consortium of bands, including the U.S. Navy Band, the President's Own U.S. Marine Corps Band, the U.S. Air Force Band, and several universities has commissioned Leshnoff for a version for solo clarinet and symphonic band. Although Clarinet Concerto "Nekudim" is not publicly available as yet, we are pleased to present a study score now.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information