Chimes Mvt. III - Rubbish

On Reading V. Shukshyn Choral Symphony

Valery Gavrilin

Edited by Elena Sharkova
Performing Ensemble: SATB
Instrumentation: SATB Voices divisi, Optional Oboe
Item Number: CM9374
Number of Pages: 12
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Chimes Mvt. III - Rubbish

Quick Overview

Russian composer Valery Gavrilin (b. 1939, Volodga; d. 1999, St. Petersburg) completed his thirteen movement composition Chimes in 1982 and subtitled it Upon Reading V. Shukshyn Miracle Play— Choral Symphony. Throughout the piece one finds the image of an endless road – as a river of life – traveled by generation to generation.

Playful and rhythmic, the nonsensical and happy-go-lucky narrative of the fourth movement is enhanced by onomatopoeic text and thick chordal texture.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • CM9374

Additional Materials

File Description
Media Icon
Rubbish - Pronunciation

Additional Information

Editor Sharkova, Elena