Chamber Symphony

for 9 Instruments

George Rochberg

Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

I wrote my Chamber Symphony for nine instruments in 1953. It received its first performance shortly after it was completed for the Baltimore Chamber Society with Hugo Weisgall.

The Chamber Symphony is the first large-scale instrumental work I attempted using a twelve-tone row to organize the melodic/harmonic levels and inter-relationships. Beyond this, the music unfolds in each of the four movements as structural gestures which proceed on their own level of activity.

Preoccupied as I am now with various ways of dealing with tonality, it is ironic, if not surprising, to discover that underlying my use of the twelve-tones in the Chamber Symphony are strong tonal tendencies.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 1953
Duration 00:18:00
Orchestration 0 1 1 1 - 1 1 1 0; Vln. Vla. Vcl.
Premiere Baltimore Chamber Society, Hugo Weisgall, conductor, 1955