Chamber Symphony

Clint Needham

Full Score - Study
Performing Ensemble: Chamber Orchestra
Instrumentation: Flute (Piccolo), Oboe, Clarinet in Eb (Clarinet in Bb (Mvt. II only)), Bass Clarinet in Bb (Clarinet in Bb (Mvt. III only)), Bassoon, Horn in F, Trumpet in C, Trombone, Tuba, 3 Percussions, Piano (or Celesta), Harp, Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Violoncello, Contrabass
Item Number: 416-41371
Number of Pages: 92
Duration: 21:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Chamber Symphony
American Composers Orchestra

Quick Overview

Needham's original intent with Chamber Symphony was to encapsulate the 2008 presidential election, from the Democratic primaries to the historic general election campaign and win of Barack Obama. But, says Needham, "In the midst of the general election circus, I decided to broaden my inspiration and have the work's overall goal focus on the larger ideas of hope and transformation." Chamber Symphony was commissioned by the American Composers Orchestra with generous support of Paul Underwood. Additional support was from the National Endowment for the Arts.

More Views

  • Chamber Symphony

Scores & Parts

Chamber Symphony - Rental
Chamber Symphony - Full Score - Large

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the American Composers Orchestra
Orchestration 1 (Picc.), 1, 2 (Eb Cl., B.Cl.), 1; 1, 1, 1, 1; 3 Perc., Pno./Cel., Hp., Str.


I. Hammering Out
II. Open-ended Echoes
III. Radiant Nation