Cello Concerto

Jay Reise

Duration: 00:26:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The Concerto for Cello and Thirteen Players is cast in three movements in a traditional fast-slow-fast configuration. The piece lasts approximately 23 minutes. It was written for and is dedicated to Ulrich Boeckheler, James Freeman and Orchestra 2001.

The cadenzas in the first and last movements were written first, and the substance of the rest of the piece is derived from them. The cadenzas also formed the basis of a short spin-off piece, "Dragonflies Sing Near", which was written in two versions, for guitar solo and piano left hand alone, each recently performed in Philadelphia. I employ my method of rhythmic counterpoint, which involves the combining of rhythmic motifs transformed into numerous guises, throughout the piece.

Additional Information

Commission Writen for and dedicated to Ulrich Boeckheler, James Freeman and Orchestra 2001.
Composition Date 2000
Orchestration Solo Vcl.; 1(Picc.) 1 1 1 - 1 0 0 0; 2Perc. Pno.(Cel.) Str.(1 1 1 1 1)
Premiere 6th & 7th May, 2000. Ulrich Boeckheler, Cello; Orchestra 2001, conducted by James Freeman, Swarthmore College, and Trinity Center for Urban Life, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.