Cape May Breezes

For Wind Quintet

Daniel Dorff

Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Woodwind Quintet
Instrumentation: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in Bb, Horn in F, Bassoon
Item Number: 114-41662
Number of Pages: 88
Duration: 18:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Inspired by the quaint beach town at the southern tip of New Jersey, Dorff’s five-movement suite is a natural outgrowth of the composer’s blend of pastoral beauty, bubbling scherzos, and iridescent wind writing. The movement titles depict a day in Cape May: I. Breezing Into Town (Exit 0); II. Autumn Monarch Migration (Fluttering Fields of Orange); III. Victorian Garden Party (Sarabande, Bourrée, Gigue); IV. Dusk at Sunset Beach; and V. Night Breezes on the Boardwalk. Each movement of the 18-minute quintet may also stand alone for shorter programming needs. Cape May Breezes was written for and dedicated to Jenny Cline for The Monmouth Winds, who adds, "The music is filled with imagery and the audience will be able to hear the joyful beginning of a vacation, delicate fluttering butterfly wings, the musical entertainment at a party, a beautiful sunset and mournful Taps at a flag ceremony, and exploding fireworks after dark."

More Views

  • 114-41662
  • Cape May Breezes

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Jenny Cline for The Monmouth Winds


I. Breezing Into Town (Exit 0)
II. Autumn Monarch Migration (Fluttering Clouds of Orange)
III. Victorian Garden Party
IV. Dusk at Sunset Beach
V. Night Breezes on the Boardwalk

State Lists

NFA Newly Published Award