Donald Erb

Duration: 00:20:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

Autumnmusic was commissioned by the New Haven Symphony Orchestra and was premiered by them in 1973. The tape for this work was realized at the Electronic Music studio of the Cleveland Institute of Music where Mr. Erb was Composer-in-Residence .
Autumnmusic is in three movements following a traditional symphonic format, although movements two and three are played without pause. The music on the tape is very exactly notated and must be closely coordinated with the orchestra. The character of the music for both orchestra and electronic sounds, once one forgets about the loudspeakers, is not at all untraditional. The character of the second movement for instance is very similar to the scherzo of a romantic symphony. The last movement has much in common with traditional finales.

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the New Haven Symphony.
Composition Date 1973
Orchestration 3 2 2 2 - 4 2 3 1; Timp. Perc. Hp. Str. El.Tape
Premiere November 20th, 1973. New Haven Symphony (Connecticut), conducted by Frank Brieff.

Score Preview