Arcos Concerto (A Bridge between the old and the new)

for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon and String Orchestra

Samuel Adler

Duration: 00:15:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The work is in the style of a concerto grosso for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and strings in four movements. Instead of the traditional French overture type of introduction, the work begins with a slow movement which introduces the individual wind instruments in lyric passages and the string choir supporting them. The second movement is a fast movement based on a single line of music which is passed around the different instruments, and to make harmonic passages is combined either by using imitative techniques or stacking the line to make up chords. It is lively all the way through without relief. The third movement is another short lyrical slow essay which is really a variation of the opening movement using the same harmonic language as well as similar lyric statements for both the winds and the strings. The finale relates back to the energy of the second movement and is a rather relentless toccata at times interrupted by lyric moments, and ending in a vigorous close.

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Arcos Chamber Orchestra
Composition Date 2008
Orchestration Fl. Ob. Cl. Bsn. Soli; Str.
Premiere Monday, November 17, 2008 Paul Hall of the Juilliard School, New York, New York

Score Preview