Anacostia Journal

For String Quartet

Lauren Bernofsky

Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: String Quartet
Instrumentation: 2 Violins, Viola, Cello
Item Number: 144-40574
Duration: 12:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

The Anacostia River borders Washington, DC along its Eastern boundary, joining with the Potomac to the South of the district. The river, itself, suffers environmental distress from surrounding industry and wastewater, which has impacted its nature in large and negative ways. Composer Lauren Bernofsky spent a time in residency with the Earth Conservation Corps' Eagle Corps (Class of 2003), a group committed to renewing the Anacostia area, to help restore the river and surroundings to its natural state. Anacostia Journal, a suite of six movements (impressions), is the composer's representation of stories told by members of the group. Its premiere performance took place at a 2003 Earth Day rally on the banks of the Anacostia.

More Views

  • Anacostia Journal

Scores & Parts

Anacostia Journal - Set of Parts
Anacostia Journal - Full Score - Study

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned through the American Composers Forum as part of the Community Partners program, with funds provided by the Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation
Composition Date 2003


Duck Talk
Tree's Lament
A Tree Grows