American Cantata in 5 parts

Origianl Facsimile Edition

Lukas Foss

Full Score - Large
Performing Ensemble: Orchestra
Instrumentation: solo Soprano voice, solo tenor voice, Double Mixed chorus, Piccolo, English Horn, Bass Clarinet, Percussion, Piano (or Cello) Electric Organ, Harp, 2 Electric Guitars, 2 Banjos (Guitar) Strings (solo or Orchestra)
Item Number: CY3233Y
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

"...Around the time of the Bicentennial, when I got a commission to write my American Cantata, I found the need to be American again in my music, as I was in my early music. I started to combine my adventurousness of my more recent music with my earlier traditional style. And I found that I could be just as crazy, while being at the same time, to a certain extent, traditional!" (excerpted from a Foss interview with classical radio host Bruce Duffie) A manuscript score is now available as custom print, offering a special glimpse into the genesis of this major Foss choral work.

American Cantata in 5 parts

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information