Four Studies On Basic Rows

For Piano

Stefan Wolpe

Edited by David Holzman & Austin Clarkson
Performing Ensemble: Piano Unaccompanied
Item Number: 440-40005
Number of Pages: 76
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Stefan Wolpe’s magnum opus was the breakthrough Four Studies on Basic Rows, the last movement of which is his famous “Passacaglia,” also available for orchestra. This critical edition by foremost Wolpe scholar Austin Clarkson and pianist David Holzman offers extensive commentary on history, interpretation, and critical comparison of 21 authentic sources, as well as analysis of Wolpe’s pioneering focus on intervals in musical architecture. For advanced players. Dur.: 30’

Four Studies On Basic Rows

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Editor Holzman, David , Clarkson, Austin


I. Study on Tritones
II. Study on Thirds
III. Presto furioso
IV. Passacaglia