MasterVoices Bring “27” to New York

On October 20th and 21st, MasterVoices (formerly The Collegiate Chorale) brought 27, an opera by RICKY IAN GORDON and ROYCE VAVREK, to New York City for the first time. The “clever, witty libretto” [Saint Louis Post-Dispatch] of 27 celebrates the life of Gertrude Stein and the legendary salons she hosted at 27 rue de Fleurus in Paris. The opera draws the audience into the artistic environment that Stein created and shared with many important artists of the twentieth century including Pablo Picasso, Henri Matisse, Man Ray, Ernest Hemingway and F. Scott Fitzgerald. At its core, it is a portrait of a genius and her legacy as knitted to life by Alice B. Toklas, her wife.
Soloists Stephanie Blythe, Heidi Stober, Theo Lebow, Tobias Greenhalgh, and Daniel Brevik, were accompanied by the 150 singers of MasterVoices and the Orchestra of St. Luke’s (directed by James Robinson and conducted by Ted Sperling). The production was a hit with the New York audiences — find some of the reviews below.
Review from StageBuddy
Ultimately the essence of 27 is the deep love between Alice and Gertrude. Their love duet sung with tenderness and passion by Ms. Blythe and Ms. Stober is an example of Mr. Gordon’s melodic brilliance. And Gertrude’s final moments in the arms of her wife asking “what is the answer?” evoke the essential existentialism at the core of her writings. Exquisitely crafted musically and lyrically… [read full review]
Review from Q On Stage
27 is a triumph for Gordon and Vavrek and a tour-de-force for all of the performers.
[read full review]
Review from La Scena
For 27, Gordon has done something equally remarkable. The sprightly, piquant and smart interplay of themes instantly evokes the time and tone of Stein’s Paris, and does it by brilliant and intentional musicological design. [read full review]

Learn More About The Opera Below
Duration: 95′
Cast: Mezzo-soprano, 4 supporting singers (Soprano, Tenor, Baritone, Bass-Baritone)
Instr: 2 2 2 2 AltoSax. – 2 2 2 0; Timp. 2Perc. Hp. Pno. Str.
Commission: Commissioned by Opera Theatre of Saint Louis
Premiere: June 14, 2014. Opera Theatre of Saint Louis, Stephanie Blythe, mezzo-soprano
Act I: Prologue, Alice Knits the World
Act IV: “Jury of My Canvas”
Piano/Vocal Score
Purchase – $75.00
Full Score (Acts 1-2)
Online Perusal
Full Score (Acts 3-5)
Online Perusal