Dakota Summer

Scenes from the Prairie

Jonathan Campbell (composer)


  • Flute 1 (doubling Piccolo)
  • Flute 2
  • Flute 3 (doubling Alto Flute)
  • Flute 4 (doubling Bass Flute)
Score and Parts; Book with Insert
Dakota Summer is a gem of Americana, charmingly portraying the landscape of a Midwestern summer afternoon. The 9-minute work for mixed flute quartet evokes moods, feelings, and imagery of a hot summer day, as well as the musical depictions of a Sunday prayer, a barn dance, and a silent cemetery. Dakota Summer is scored for 4 C Flutes, with the 1st doubling Piccolo, 3rd doubling Alto, and 4th doubling Bass.
SKU: FH0503
Duration: 9:00
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Silver Winds Flute Quartet
Publisher: Falls House Press
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 28
Weight: 0.3 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-66984-4
ISBN: 978-1-4911-1233-5
1. Summer Sky
2. Fields
3. Country Church (Bred Dina Vida Vingar)
4. Dakota Dance (A Kiss for a Fig)
5. Cemetery and Sky
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.